Leave No Trace

I was delighted to be able to take my place on a Leave No Trace Trainer Course at the weekend.

I became aware of LNT over the last year and immediately wanted to get involved, particularly as a trainer. Leading walking groups to various remote spots in the West of Ireland and Poland, I have been conscious of not leaving traces of our presence behind us. But I wanted a structure and a “Cert” to my name would be even better.

LNT originates in the US and has at its core seven principles. They are :

1. Plan ahead and prepare;

2. Be considerate of others;

3. Respect farm animals and wildlife;

4. Travel and camp on durable ground;

5. Leave what you find;

6. Dispose of waste properly;

7. Minimise the effects of fire.

I like it because it’s simple, practical and clear. Thanks to Úna and Aodhnait for a good time.

Visit http://www.leavenotraceireland.org/

Leave a Reply

