The Bangor Trail, February 28

The Bangor Trail, Mayo.

The Bangor Trail, Mayo.

I’ll be welcoming in spring 2009 with a long walk on Mayo’s Bangor Trail on Saturday, February 28th. My plan is to leave Castlebar at 7 am to begin walking at 8 am. I plan to walk for around 8 or 9 hours, returning to the same spot. If you would like to join me, I would welcome up to 7 others, for a group of no more than 8. With just two cars, we can car pool out to the starting point. Get in touch if you’d like to come.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. You must be ready for wet, windy and wild West Mayo weather and tough conditions underfoot. If you are coming, please do bring good gear, food and liquids, but please do not bring anything that might get lost in nature, like chocolate wrapping, etc. I never leave a mess behind, however small.

When we were in school many moons ago, we learned that spring begins on February 1st. In an Irish context, that’s really slightly bonkers. I’ve also heard contributors to radio nature shows tell how, for them, spring begins on St. Patrick’s Day. That’s a little late. For me, winter lasts for four months, from Nov thru Feb, spring is March, April and May, summer June, July and August and autumn can lay claim to just the two months of Sept and Oct. Certainly in the West of Ireland, that seems to make more sense to me.

Leave a Reply

